clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brendan Allen boots Darren Till from UFC rankings with ‘Vegas’ win over Andre Muniz

The struggling Till has dropped three straight and five of his last six.

UFC Fight Night: Muniz v Allen Photo by Chris Unger/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) is just a couple of days removed from its UFC Vegas 70 mixed martial arts (MMA) event in Las Vegas, and while we didn’t get the light heavyweight headliner between Nikita Krylov and Ryan Spann, thanks to a late injury to “The Miner,” Brendan Allen and Tatiana Suarez made their marks with key victories over Andre Muniz and Montana De La Rosa, respectively, pushing both combatants into the Top 15 of their respective weight classes.

Allen’s inclusion came at the expense of Darren Till.

Here’s how UFC compiles its official rankings:

Rankings were generated by a voting panel made up of media members. The media members were asked to vote for who they feel are the top fighters in the UFC by weight-class and pound-for-pound. A fighter is only eligible to be voted on if they are in active status in the UFC. A fighter can appear in more than one weight division at a time. The champion and interim champion are considered to be in the top positions of their respective divisions and therefore are not eligible for voting by weight-class. However, the champions can be voted on for the pound-for-pound rankings.

Take a look at what the latest rankings field looks like courtesy of Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, T = tie, *NR = Not previously ranked).


1. Alexander Volkanovski
2. Islam Makhachev
3. Leon Edwards
4. Kamaru Usman
5. Israel Adesanya
6. Alex Pereira
7. Aljamain Sterling
8. Charles Oliveira
9. Brandon Moreno
10. Jon Jones
11. Jiri Prochazka
12. Dustin Poirier
13. Jamahal Hill
14. Robert Whittaker
15. Max Holloway


Champion: Brandon Moreno

1. Deiveson Figueiredo
2. Alexandre Pantoja
3. Kai Kara France
4. Brandon Royval
5. Matheus Nicolau
6. Alex Perez
7. Amir Albazi
8. Matt Schnell
9. Manel Kape
10. David Dvorak
11. Tim Elliott
12. Muhammad Mokaev
13. Su Mudaerji
14. Tagir Ulanbekov
14. Tyson Nam


Champion: Aljamain Sterling

1. Sean O’Malley
2. Petr Yan
3. Merab Dvalishvili
4. Marlon Vera
5. Cory Sandhagen
6. Rob Font
7. Dominick Cruz
8. Song Yadong
9. Pedro Munhoz
10. Ricky Simon
11. Umar Nurmagomedov
12. Chris Gutierrez
13. Adrian Yanez
14. Said Nurmagomedov
15. Jack Shore


Champion: Alexander Volkanovski

1. Interim Champion Yair Rodriguez
2. Max Holloway
3. Brian Ortega
4. Arnold Allen
5. Josh Emmett
6. Chan Sung Jung
7. Calvin Kattar
8. Giga Chikadze
9. Ilia Topuria
10. Movsar Evloev
11. Bryce Mitchell
12. Sodiq Yusuff
13. Dan Ige
14. Edson Barboza
15. Alex Caceres


Champion: Islam Makhachev

1. Charles Oliveira
2. Dustin Poirier
3. Justin Gaethje
4. Beneil Dariush
5. Michael Chandler
6. Rafael Fiziev
7. Mateusz Gamrot
8. Arman Tsarukyan
9. Rafael dos Anjos
10. Jalin Turner
11. Dan Hooker
12. Damir Ismagulov
13. Renato Moicano
14. Drew Dober
15. Grant Dawson


Champion: Leon Edwards

1. Kamaru Usman
2. Colby Covington
3. Khamzat Chimaev
4. Belal Muhammed
5. Gilbert Burns
6. Stephen Thompson
7. Geoff Neal
8. Sean Brady
9. (T) Vicente Luque
9. (T) Shavkat Rakhmonov +1
11. Jorge Masvidal
12. (T) Neil Magny
12. (T) Michael Chiesa +1
14. Jack Della Maddalena
15. Michel Pereira


Champion: Alex Pereira

1. Israel Adesanya
2. Robert Whittaker
3. Jared Cannonier
4. Marvin Vettori
5. Derek Brunson
6. Paulo Costa
7. Sean Strickland
8. Roman Dolidze
9. Jack Hermansson
10. Dricus Du Plessis
11. Nassourdine Imavov +1
12. Brendan Allen *NR
13. Andre Muniz -2
14. Chris Curtis
15. Kelvin Gastelum -2


Champion: Jamahal Hill

1. Jiri Prochazka
2. Magomed Ankalaev
3. Jan Blachowicz
4. Aleksandar Rakic
5. Anthony Smith
6. Nikita Krylov
7. Johnny Walker
8. Ryan Spann
9. Volkan Oezdemir -1
10. Paul Craig
11. Dominick Reyes
12. Jim Crute
13. (T) Khalil Rountree
13. (T) Dustin Jacoby +1
15. Azamat Murzakanov


Champion: Vacant

1. Ciryl Gane
2. Stipe Miocic
3. Sergei Pavlovich
4. Curtis Blaydes
5. Tai Tuivasa
6. Tom Aspinall
7. Serghei Spivac
8. Alexander Volkov
9. Jairzinho Rozenstruik
10. Marcin Tybura
11. Derrick Lewis
12. Chris Daukaus
13. Alexandr Romanov
14. Jailton Almeida
15. Blagoy Ivanov


1. Amanda Nunes
2. Valentina Shevchenko
3. Weili Zhang
4. Rose Namajunas
5. Julianna Pena -1
6. Carla Esparza
7. Jessica Andrade
8. Erin Blanchfield
9. Amanda Lemos
10. Taila Santos
11. Manon Fiorot +1
12. Marina Rodriguez -1
13. Raquel Pennington +1
14. Holly Holm -1
15. Tatiana Suarez *NR


Champion: Zhang Weili

1. Carla Esparza
2. Rose Namajunas
3. Amanda Lemos
4. Jessica Andrade +2
5. Marina Rodriguez -1
6. Yan Xiaonan -1
7. Mackenzie Dern
8. Tecia Torres
9. Amanda Ribas
10. Virna Jandiroba
11. Michelle Waterson
12. Angela Hill
13. Tatiana Suarez *NR
14. Luana Pinheiro -1
15. Emily Ducote -1


Champion: Valentina Shevchenko

1. Manon Fiorot +1
2. Talia Santos -1
3. Erin Blanchfield
4. Jessica Andrade
5. Katlyn Chookagian
6. Alexa Grasso
7. Lauren Murphy
8. Viviane Araujo
9. Jennifer Maia
10. Andrea Lee
11. Casey O’Neill
12. Maycee Barber
13. Tracy Cortez
14. Cynthia Calvillo
15. Miranda Maverick


Champion: Amanda Nunes

1. Julianna Pena
2. Raquel Pennington
3. (T) Holly Holm
3. (T) Ketlen Vieira +1
5. Irene Aldana
6. Yana Kunitskaya
7. Pannie Kianzad
8. Macy Chiasson
9. Karol Rosa
10. Miesha Tate
11. Julia Avila
12. Mayra Bueno Silva
13. Norma Dumont
14. Josiane Nunes +1
15. Chelsea Chandler *NR

There you have it.

LIVE! Watch UFC 298 PPV On ESPN+ Here!

WORLD FEATHERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP! Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) returns to Honda Center in Anaheim, Calif., on Sat., Feb. 17, 2024, for the first time in more than two years with its latest pay-per-view (PPV) show. In the ESPN+-streamed PPV main event, reigning Featherweight roost-ruler, Alexander Volkanovski, will defend his 145-pound strap against undefeated surging Spanish contender, Ilia Topuria. In addition, former Middleweight kingpin, Robert Whittaker, will finally square off with mercurial mauler, Paulo Costa, in UFC 298’s co-feature. UFC 298 will also feature the returns of Ian Garry, Geoff Neal, Henry Cejudo, Merab Dvalishvili and so much more!

Don’t miss a single second of EPIC face-punching action!

You can expect these rankings to change around this time next week, particularly in the heavyweight division, following the UFC 285: “Jones vs. Gane” pay-per-view (PPV) event, which takes place this Sat. night (March 4, 2023) from inside T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

For much more on that upcoming fight card click here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania