clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Despite ‘incredible’ praise from Ciryl Gane, ‘dangerous’ Tai Tuivasa loses ground in latest UFC rankings update

In addition, middleweight bruiser Marvin Vettori slipped to No. 3 after his unanimous decision loss to former champion Robert Whittaker.

UFC Fight Night: Gane v Tuivasa Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC

Heavyweight power puncher Tai Tuivasa was defeated by former interim 265-pound champion Ciryl Gane in the UFC Paris headliner last weekend at Accor Arena, ending a five-fight win streak and eliminating “Bam Bam” from the division title chase.

But the Aussie earned the respect of “Bon Gamin” by putting the Parisian on his ass in the second stanza, a devastating blow that had Gane in a world of trouble.

“The feeling was just, because I didn’t see anything, talking about his punch, that’s why I fell down, and I think the ground woke me up,” Gane told The MMA Hour. “When my ass touched the ground I said, ‘Oh, what happening?’ And I understood and reacted directly, that he caught me so I go ahead on his legs to grab and stand up, and after that, I took a rest — maybe three, four seconds — and moved away and it was okay, but he touched me for real. He’s really dangerous. You see sometimes you have some guys, you can’t explain, but he has something in his hands, just like that. When the guy touches you, you go down. That’s it. Incredible.”

The victory for Gane keeps “Bon Gamin” in the No. 1 spot in the 265-pound rankings, but drops Tuivasa to No. 4 behind perennial contender Curtis Blaydes. Expect the Top 10 to undergo some additional changes when Jon Jones (eventually) makes his heavyweight debut.

Here’s how UFC compiles its official rankings:

Rankings were generated by a voting panel made up of media members. The media members were asked to vote for who they feel are the top fighters in the UFC by weight-class and pound-for-pound. A fighter is only eligible to be voted on if they are in active status in the UFC. A fighter can appear in more than one weight division at a time. The champion and interim champion are considered to be in the top positions of their respective divisions and therefore are not eligible for voting by weight-class. However, the champions can be voted on for the pound-for-pound rankings.

Take a look at what the latest rankings field looks like courtesy of Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, T = tie, *NR = Not previously ranked).


1. Alexander Volkanovski
2. Israel Adesanya
3. Charles Oliveira
4. Kamaru Usman
5. Francis Ngannou
6. Leon Edwards
7. Aljamain Sterling
8. Dustin Poirier
9. Deiveson Figueiredo
10. Jiri Prochazka
11. Max Holloway
12. Jon Jones
13. Stipe Miocic
14. Petr Yan
15. Brandon Moreno


Champion: Deiveson Figueiredo

1. Brandon Moreno *Interim Champion
2. Alexandre Pantoja
3. Kai Kara France
4. Askar Askarov
5. Brandon Royval
6. Alex Perez
7. Matheus Nicolau
8. Matt Schnell
9. David Dvorak
10. Amir Albazi
11. Tim Elliott
12. Manel Kape
13. Su Mudaerji
14. Jeffrey Molina
14. Tagir Ulanbekov


Champion: Aljamain Sterling

1. Petr Yan
2. T.J. Dillashaw
3. Merab Dvalishvili
4. Cory Sandhagen
5. Marlon Vera
6. Jose Aldo
7. Rob Font
8. Dominick Cruz
9. Pedro Munhoz
10. Song Yadong
11. Ricky Simon
12. Frankie Edgar
13. Sean O’Malley
14. Umar Nurmagomedov
15. Jack Shore


Champion: Alexander Volkanovski

1. Max Holloway
2. Yair Rodriguez
3. Brian Ortega
4. Josh Emmett
5. Calvin Kattar
6. Arnold Allen
7. Chan Sung Jung
8. Giga Chikadze
9. Bryce Mitchell
10. Dan Ige
11. Sodiq Yusuff
12. Edson Barboza
13. Movsar Evloev
14. Ilia Topuria
15. Alex Caceres


Champion: VACANT

1. Charles Oliveira
2. Dustin Poirier
3. Justin Gaethje
4. Islam Makhachev
5. Michael Chandler
6. Beneil Dariush
7. Rafael Fiziev
8. Rafael dos Anjos
9. Mateusz Gamrot
10. Arman Tsarukyan
11. Tony Ferguson
12. Conor McGregor
13. Jalin Turner +1
14. Dan Hooker -1
15. Damir Ismagulov


Champion: Leon Edwards

1. Kamaru Usman
2. Colby Covington
3. Khamzat Chimaev
4. Gilbert Burns
5. Belal Muhammed
6. Geoff Neal
7. Stephen Thompson
8. Sean Brady
9. Jorge Masvidal
10. Vicente Luque
11. Shavkat Rakhmonov
12. Michael Chiesa
13. Neil Magny
14. Li Jingliang
15. Michel Pereira


Champion: Israel Adesanya

1. Robert Whittaker
2. Jared Cannonier
3. Marvin Vettori -1
4. Alex Pereira +1
5. Derek Brunson -1
6. Paulo Costa
7. Sean Strickland
8. Jack Hermansson
9. Darren Till
10. Andre Muniz
11. Kelvin Gastelum
12. Uriah Hall
13. Nassourdine Imavov
14. Dricus Du Plessis
15. Brad Tavares


Champion: Jiri Prochazka

1. Glover Teixeira
2. Jan Blachowicz
3. Magomed Ankalaev
4. Aleksandar Rakic
5. Anthony Smith
6. Jamahal Hill
7. Dominick Reyes
8. Volkan Oezdemir
9. Thiago Santos
10. Paul Craig
11. Nikita Krylov
12. Ryan Spann
13. Johnny Walker
14. Dustin Jacoby
15. Jim Crute


Champion: Francis Ngannou

1. Ciryl Gane
2. Stipe Miocic
3. Curtis Blaydes +1
4. Tai Tuivasa -1
5. Sergei Pavlovich
6. Tom Aspinall
7. Derrick Lewis
8. Alexander Volkov
9. Jairzinho Rozenstruik
10. Marcin Tybura
11. Chris Daukaus
12. Serghei Spivac
13. Alexandr Romanov
14. Shamil Abdurakhimov
15. Blagoy Ivanov


1. Amanda Nunes
2. Valentina Shevchenko
3. Julianna Pena
4. Carla Esparza
5. Rose Namajunas
6. Weili Zhang
7. Jessica Andrade
8. Marina Rodriguez
9. Holly Holm
10. Katlyn Chookagian
11. Ketlen Vieira
12. Taila Santos
13. Mackenzie Dern
14. Yan Xiaonan
15. Lauren Murphy


Champion: Carla Esparza

1. Rose Namajunas
2. Zhang Weili
3. Marina Rodriguez
4. Jessica Andrade
5. Mackenzie Dern
6. Yan Xiaonan
7. Tecia Torres
8. Amanda Lemos
9. Nina Nunes
10. Amanda Ribas
11. Virna Jandiroba
12. Michelle Waterson
13. Angela Hill
14. Emily Ducote
15. Luana Pinheiro


Champion: Valentina Shevchenko

1. Katlyn Chookagian
2. Talia Santos
3. Lauren Murphy
4. Jessica Andrade
5. Alexa Grasso
6. Viviane Araujo
7. Manon Fiorot
8. Jennifer Maia
9. Andrea Lee
10. Casey O’Neill
11. Maycee Barber
12. Cynthia Calvillo
13. Erin Blanchfield
14. Tracy Cortez
15. Molly McCann


Champion: Amanda Nunes

1. Julianna Pena
2. Ketlen Vieira
3. Holly Holm
4. Irene Aldana
5. Raquel Pennington
6. Yana Kunitskaya
7. Aspen Ladd
8. Sara McMann
9. Pannie Kianzad
10. Macy Chiasson
11. Miesha Tate
12. (T) Karol Rosa
12. (T) Lina Lansberg
14. Julia Avila
15. Norma Dumont

There you have it.

You can expect these rankings to change around this time next week, particularly in the welterweight division, following the UFC 279: “Chimaev vs. Diaz” mixed martial arts (MMA) event scheduled for this Sat. night (Sept. 10, 2022) on ESPN+ pay-per-view (PPV) from T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

For much more on that upcoming fight card click here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania