clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sean Strickland fails to crack Top 5 in latest UFC rankings update

UFC Fight Night: Allen v Strickland Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC

Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) recently updated its official rankings in the wake of the UFC Vegas 47 mixed martial arts (MMA) event, which took place last Sat. night (Feb. 5, 2022) inside the promotion’s APEX facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. That’s where streaking middleweight contender Sean Strickland continued his ascension through the 185-pound ranks, though his decision victory over “The Joker” was only good enough for one spot in this week’s official update, which comes at the expense of the struggling Hermansson.

Here’s how UFC compiles its official rankings:

Rankings were generated by a voting panel made up of media members. The media members were asked to vote for who they feel are the top fighters in the UFC by weight-class and pound-for-pound. A fighter is only eligible to be voted on if they are in active status in the UFC. A fighter can appear in more than one weight division at a time. The champion and interim champion are considered to be in the top positions of their respective divisions and therefore are not eligible for voting by weight-class. However, the champions can be voted on for the pound-for-pound rankings.

Take a look at what the latest rankings field looks like courtesy of Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, T = tie, *NR = Not previously ranked).


1. Kamaru Usman
2. Alexander Volkanovski
3. Israel Adesanya
4. Francis Ngannou
5. Charles Oliveira
6. Jon Jones
7. Max Holloway
8. Dustin Poirier
9. Petr Yan
10. (T) Stipe Miocic
10. (T) Glover Teixeira +1
12. Deiveson Figueiredo
13. Brandon Moreno
14. Robert Whittaker
15. Jan Blachowicz


Champion: Deiveson Figueiredo

1. Brandon Moreno
2. Askar Askarov
3. Alexandre Pantoja
4. Alex Perez
5. Brandon Royval
6. Kai Kara France
7. Rogerio Bontorin
8. Matheus Nicolau
9. Matt Schnell
10. David Dvorak
11. Amir Albazi
12. Tim Elliott
13. Su Mudaerji
14. Manel Kape
15. Tagir Ulanbekov


Champion: Aljamain Sterling

1. Petr Yan (Interim champion)
2. T.J. Dillashaw
3. Jose Aldo
4. Cory Sandhagen
5. Rob Font
6. Merab Dvalishvili
7. Dominick Cruz
8. Marlon Vera
9. Pedro Munhoz
10. Marlon Moraes
11. Frankie Edgar
12. Sean O’Malley
13. Ricky Simon
14. Song Yadong
15. Raphael Assuncao


Champion: Alexander Volkanovski

1. Max Holloway
2. Brian Ortega
3. Yair Rodriguez
4. Chan Sung Jung
5. Calvin Kattar
6. Josh Emmett
7. Arnold Allen
8. Giga Chikadze
9. Dan Ige
10. Edson Barboza
11. Bryce Mitchell
12. Sodiq Yusuff
13. Movsar Evloev
14. Shane Burgos
15. Alex Caceres


Champion: Charles Oliveira

1. Justin Gaethje
2. Dustin Poirier
3. Beneil Dariush
4. Islam Makhachev
5. Michael Chandler
6. Rafael dos Anjos
7. Tony Ferguson
8. Dan Hooker
9. Conor McGregor
10. Gregor Gillespie
11. Rafael Fiziev
12. Mateusz Gamrot
13. Arman Tsarukyan
14. Brad Riddell
15. Diego Ferreira


Champion: Kamaru Usman

1. Colby Covington
2. Gilbert Burns
3. Leon Edwards
4. Vicente Luque
5. Belal Muhammed
6. Jorge Masvidal
7. Stephen Thompson
8. Neil Magny
9. Sean Brady
10. Michael Chiesa
11. Khamzat Chimaev
12. Geoff Neal
13. Li Jingliang
14. Santiago Ponzinibbio
15. Muslim Salikhov


Champion: Israel Adesanya

1. Robert Whittaker
2. Marvin Vettori
3. Jared Cannonier
4. Derek Brunson
5. Paulo Costa
6. Sean Strickland +1
7. Jack Hermansson -1
8. Darren Till
9. Uriah Hall
10. Kelvin Gastelum
11. Brad Tavares
12. Nassourdine Imavov
13. Andre Muniz
14. Kevin Holland
15. Chris Weidman


Champion: Glover Teixeira

1. Jan Blachowicz
2. Jiri Prochazka
3. Aleksandar Rakic
4. Anthony Smith
5. Thiago Santos
6. Magomed Ankalaev
7. Dominick Reyes
8. Volkan Oezdemir
9. Nikita Krylov
10. Johnny Walker
11. Paul Craig
12. Jamall Hill
13. Ryan Spann
14. Jim Crute
15. Ion Cutelaba


Champion: Francis Ngannou

1. Ciryl Gane
2. Stipe Miocic
3. Derrick Lewis
4. Curtis Blaydes
5. Alexander Volkov
6. Jairzinho Rozenstruik
7. Chris Daukaus
8. Shamil Abdurakhimov
9. Marcin Tybura
10. Tom Aspinall
11. Tai Tuivasa
12. Augusto Sakai
13. Blagoy Ivanov
14. Walt Harris
15. Sergei Pavlovich


1. Valentina Shevchenko
2. Amanda Nunes
3. Rose Namajunas
4. Julianna Pena
5. Weili Zhang
6. Jessica Andrade
7. Holly Holm
8. Carla Esparza
9. Marina Rodriguez
10. Katlyn Chookagian
11. Yan Xiaonan
12. Irene Aldana
13. Lauren Murphy
14. Mackenzie Dern
15. Aspen Ladd


Champion: Rose Namajunas

1. Zhang Weili
2. Carla Esparza
3. Marina Rodriguez
4. Yan Xiaonan
5. Mackenzie Dern
6. Nina Nunes
7. Tecia Torres
8. Michelle Waterson
9. Amanda Ribas
10. Amanda Lemos
11. Virna Jandiroba
12. Angela Hill
13. Jessica Penne
14. Brianna Van Buren
15. Luana Pinheiro


Champion: Valentina Shevchenko

1. Jessica Andrade
2. Katlyn Chookagian
3. Lauren Murphy
4. Jennifer Maia
5. Talia Santos
6. Viviane Araujo
7. Joanne Wood
8. Andrea Lee
9. Jessica Eye
10. Cynthia Calvillo
11. Alexa Grasso
12. Roxanne Modafferi
13. Maycee Barber
14. Manon Fiorot
15. Casey O’Neill


Champion: Julianna Pena

1. Amanda Nunes
2. Holly Holm
3. Irene Aldana
4. Aspen Ladd
5. Ketlen Vieira
6. Yana Kunitskaya
7. Raquel Pennington
8. Miesha Tate
9. Sara McMann
10. Macy Chiasson
11. Lina Lansberg
12. Pannie Kianzad
13. Karol Rosa
14. Julia Avila
15. Norma Dumont

There you have it.

LIVE! Watch UFC 283 PPV On ESPN+ Here!

UFC’s 2023 PPV DEBUT! Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) kicks off its New Year pay-per-view (PPV) campaign on Sat., Jan. 21, 2023, with a battle for the vacant Light Heavyweight crown between former champion and No. 2-ranked contender, Glover Teixeira, looking to stop the momentum of surging No. 7-seeded up-and-comer, Jamahal Hill. In the co-main event of UFC 283, which will take place inside Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, one of the greatest rivalries in promotional history resumes as Flyweight kingpin, Deiveson Figueiredo, battles interim belt keeper, Brandon Moreno, for a fourth (and likely final) time.

Don’t miss a single second of EPIC face-punching action!

You can expect these “official” rankings to change around this time next week, particularly in the middleweight division, as Israel Adesanya and Robert Whittaker — as well as Derek Brunson and Jared Cannonier — collide at the UFC UFC 271 pay-per-view (PPV) event on Feb. 12 inside Toyota Center in Houston, Texas.

For much more on that upcoming fight card click here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania