clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fabricio Werdum not medically cleared for PFL 6, Mohammed Usman also withdraws

New, comments

Fabricio Werdum and Mohammed Usman will no longer compete at 2021 PFL 6.

Fabricio Werdum PFL UFC Photo by Mike Roach/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Fabricio Werdum and Mohammed Usman — brother of Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) Welterweight kingpin Kamaru Usman — have withdrawn from PFL 6, forcing some serious Heavyweight shake ups.

Werdum (24-9-1) and Usman (7-2) will no longer compete at PFL 6 on June 25, 2021, according to a press release issued by the promotion. Werdum was supposed to fight Brandon Sayles (6-1,1-0 this season), but was not medically cleared. Usman pulled out of his fight with Denis Goltsov (26-6, 1-0 this season) with an undisclosed injury suffered in training.

Sayles and Goltsov will now fight each other instead.

Both Werdum and Usman were defeated in their PFL openers; however, Werdum’s loss was overturned to a “No Contest” because his opponent, Renan Ferreira, appeared to tap out before winning via technical knockout (watch it).

PFL 6 is headlined by fan-favorite Kayla Harrison taking on Cindy Dandois. UFC veteran Larissa Pacheco is also scheduled to compete on the card.

Check out the full card below:

Main Card (ESPN2, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)

  • Kayla Harrison vs. Cindy Dandois
  • Renan Ferreira vs. Ali Isaev
  • Denis Goltsov vs. Brandon Sayles
  • Bruno Cappelozza vs. Muhammed DeReese

‘Prelims’ Under Card (ESPN+, 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT)

  • Helena Kolesnyk vs. Larissa Pacheco
  • Genah Fabian vs. Julija Pajic
  • Ante Delija vs. Hatef Moeil
  • Taylor Guardado vs. Laura Sanchez
  • Mariana Morais vs. Kaitlin Young

For the latest and greatest PFL-related news and notes click here.