ONE Championship today announced that Eddie Alvarez will have his loss to Iuri Lapicus overturned following a unanimous vote from “a panel of independent industry experts and ONE Championship officials, judges, and referees.”
Alvarez scored an early takedown in the opening frame and moved to a dominant position against Lapicus at ONE on TNT 1 back on April 7. A series of punishing strikes soon followed, some of which appeared to land on the back of the Moldovan’s head.
Referee Justin Brown drew the red card, disqualifying Alvarez, but after an extensive review from the Singapore-based ONE Championship — which acts as its own athletic commission — the result was changed to a “No Contest.”
The decision was made by a panel of independent industry experts and ONE Championship officials, judges, and referees. The panel unanimously validated that illegal strikes to the back of the head occurred, but also ruled by majority that a procedural misstep occurred after the second strike to the back of the head.
The panel advised that the bout should have been halted and a warning issued after the second strike to the back of the head. Due to the procedural misstep, Alvarez’s red card has been retracted, with a yellow card issued in its place.
Additionally, a medical review validated the serious nature of the injury and Lapicus’ inability to continue in the fight. The no-contest ruling was made in fairness to all parties.
Expect these two to rematch in the very near future.
Before that happens, Alvarez will try to get one step closer to the lightweight title, currently held by Christian Lee, by turning away Rae Yoon Ok in the co-main event of the ONE on TNT 4 event this Weds. night in Singapore.