clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Rafa Garcia vs Humberto Bandenay tops Combate Americas return to Mexicali on Feb. 21

New, 2 comments
Combate Americas

Undefeated lightweight sensation Rafa Garcia will headline Combate Americas return to Mexicali when he battles 155-pound wunderkind Humberto Bandenay on Fri., Feb. 21, 2020 from inside Auditorio del Estado in Mexicali, B.C., Mexico.

The event airs live in the U.S. in Spanish on both Univision (12 a.m. ET/PT) and TUDN (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT), and in English on AXS TV (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT), and in Mexico on Televisa Canal 5 (11 p.m. local time).

Tickets are available at ZonaTicket.mx.

Garcia (11-0) has torn through the promotion’s lightweight division since making his “La Jaula” debut back in early 2017, including last September’s unanimous decision win over longtime veteran Erick “Ghost Pepper” Gonzalez.

As for Bandenay (18-7, 1 NC), the UFC import turned the division upside down with his tournament win at Copa Combate just last month. The Peruvian power puncher captured three straight wins in his native Lima to capture the $100k tourney prize.

“This is arguably the single biggest fight in Combate Americas history between two young, rival superstars in what has become one of our strongest and most competitive weight divisions,” said Combate Americas CEO Campbell McLaren, who continued, “Rafa is a homegrown talent that we have proudly built from upstart to world champion and Humberto is coming off a spectacular victory of the most prestigious, one-night tournament in sports. It is going to be an electric night.”

Additional bouts for the Combate Americas world championship event will be announced soon.