clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC VP Jeff Novitzky was just nominated for a ‘World MMA Award’ ... for some reason

This is the most MMA thing ever.

Esther Lin

So I guess the World MMA Awards are still a thing.

I suppose we should start with the bad news: For the eleventh straight year, your own Jesse Holland was not nominated for “Clickbait of the Year.” True, such a category does not exist, but it probably should, considering some of the current shlock that’s being honored.

That’s my flimsy segue into Jeff Novitzky’s nomination for sellout “Leading Man,” a dubious distinction that I assume he earned with his pro-Bones-o doublespeak during the great picogram disaster of late 2018.

Here’s the criteria for “Leading Man” (see all the categories here):

Awarded to the leading industry executive, whether it be a commissioner, a company president, an influential CEO or even a politician. Presented to the movers and shakers, hirers and firers that make planet MMA turn successfully.

Uh huh,

Here is the complete list of categories, helpfully compiled by MMA Junkie:

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

Khabib Nurmagomedov
Gegard Mousasi
Dustin Poirier
Daniel Cormier
Aung La N Sang

Female Fighter of the Year

Valentina Shevchenko
Tatiana Suarez
Jessica Andrade
Ilima-Lei Macfarlane
Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Thiago “Marreta” Santos
Israel Adesanya
Anthony Smith
A.J. McKee
Aaron Pico

International Fighter of the Year

Khabib Nurmagomedov
Kamaru Usman
Israel Adesanya
Gegard Mousasi
Aung La N Sang

Fight of the Year

Robert Whittaker vs. Yoel Romer (UFC 225)
Thiago “Marreta” Santos vs. Jimi Manuwa (UFC 231)
Rory MacDonald vs. Douglas Lima (Bellator 192)
Dustin Poirier vs. Justin Gaethje (UFC on FOX 29)
Tony Ferguson vs. Anthony Pettis (UFC 229)

Knockout of the Year

Yair Rodriguez vs. Chan Sung Jung (UFC Fight Night 139)
Amanda Nunes vs. Cris Cyborg (UFC 232)
Mandel Nallo vs. Carrington Banks (Bellator 207)
Lyoto Machida vs. Vitor Belfort (UFC 224)
Brian Ortega vs. Frankie Edgar (UFC 222)

Submission of the Year

Tyson Pedro vs. Saparbek Safarov (UFC 221)
Donald Cerrone vs. Mike Perry (UFC Fight Night 139)
Zabit Magomedsharipov vs. Brandon Davis (UFC 228)
Aljamain Sterling vs. Cody Stamann (UFC 228)
Ryan Hall def. B.J. Penn (UFC 232)

Comeback of the Year

Claudio Silva vs. Nordine Taleb (UFC Fight Night 130)
Tony Ferguson (Injury)
Paul Craig def. Magomed Ankalaev (UFC Fight Night 127)
Derrick Lewis def. Alexander Volkov (UFC 229)
Angela Lee (Injury)

Upset of the Year

Khalil Rountree vs. Gokhan Saki (UFC 226)
Alexander Hernandez vs. Beneil Dariush (UFC 222)
Ray Cooper vs. Jake Shields (PFL Playoffs 2018)
Amanda Nunes vs. Cris Cyborg (UFC 232)
Henry Cejudo vs. Demetrious Johnson (UFC 227)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Din Thomas
Firas Zahabi
Mike Brown
Trevor Wittman
Javier Mendez

Trainer of the Year

Michelle Ingels (nutrition)
Sam Calavitta (strength and conditioning)
George Lockhart (nutrition)
Nick Curson (strength and conditioning)
Phil Daru (strength and conditioning)

Gym of the Year

Factory X
City Kickboxing
The MMA Lab
American Top Team
American Kickboxing Academy

Referee of the Year

Josh Rosenthal
Dan Miragliotta
Mike Beltran
Herb Dean
Marc Goddard

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Carly Baker
Jhenny Andrade
Summer Daniels
Arianny Celeste
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man

Dana White (UFC)
Jeff Novitzky (UFC)
Martin Lewandowski (KSW)
Chatri Sityodtong (ONE Championship)
Scott Coker (Bellator)

Best Promotion

Rizin FF
ONE Championship

Personality of the Year

Jon Anik
Chael Sonnen
John McCarthy
Brendan Schaub
Joe Rogan

Analyst of the Year

Robin Black
Michael Bisping
Paul Felder
Daniel Cormier
Dominick Cruz

Best MMA Programming

The MMA Hour
UFC Embedded
Dana White’s Contender Series
Anatomy Of A Fighter

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Fighting
MMA Junkie
Bloody Elbow
Flo Combat

MMA Journalist of the Year

Chuck Mindenhall
John Morgan
Brett Okamoto
Ariel Helwani
Karim Zidan

MMA Clothing and Equipment Brand of the Year


Fans can vote by clicking here.

There’s usually a big ceremony in Las Vegas during International Fight Week, sponsored by Fighters Only Magazine, but ticket information has yet to be revealed. Or you can just come to the World Awards, held in some dingy Irish Pub two block from the Strip, where every attendee earns an automatic nomination for the “Most Likely To Get Shitfaced On Cheap Beer” award.

See you in July!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania