clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rizin 10 results and highlights! So many highlights!

Here’s everything you missed from the latest Rizin FF event that took place in Fukuoka Japan overnight.


After a four month break, Rizin Fighting Federation reterned with a vengeance on Sunday May 6th and if you were smart and caffeine infused enough to watch it from 2AM to 8AM EST you witnessed an entertaining show with lots of great fights. We’ve already covered two of the impressive finishes on display during the show: Kyoji Horiguchi’s one punch knockout of Ian McCall and Daron Cruickshank’s headkick flip off of Koshi Matsumoto.

But there was way more to see, so let’s thank MMA Twitter and Rizin’s much less anal copyright enforcement policies for the bounty we’re about to enjoy.

Let’s start with the finishes, with one more look at that quick KO finish of Ian McCall by flyweight badass Kyoji Horiguchi. It took all of nine seconds:

And then there was the brilliance of Tenshin Nasukawa, who defeated Yusaku Nakamura via TKO in R2 of their kickboxing bout. Look at this insane kick. Look at it!

Daron Cruickshank’s headkick KO of Koshi Matsumoto in round 1 of their fight had shades of Holm vs. Rousey.

And Kai Asakura went to war with endless s**t talker Manel Cape, earning a hometown decision in a brawl you should look up on YouTube right meow.

In the second match of the night, Kanako Murata caught Lanchana Green in a slick anaconda choke for a first round finish.

Rizin could teach the UFC a couple of things regarding production. Of course they’re already known for being flashier and more entertainment based. But they’ve also got some unique practical flavor for fans watching the events live.

But who am I kidding. You’re here for the spectacle, and they had that in spades. Check out all the lights and lasers and LEDs they had blinking in Fukuoka, Japan:

Here’s the full results of the event:

Kyoji Horiguchi defeated Ian McCall via KO (punch) at :09 of R1
Tenshin Nasukawa defeated Yusaku Nakamura via TKO in R2 (kickboxing rules)
Kanna Asakura defeated Melissa Sophia Karagianis via unanimous decision
Yusuke Yachi defeated Diego Nunes via split decision
Daron Cruickshank defeated Koshi Matsumoto via KO (head kick) in R1
Issei Ishii defeated Daishin Sakai via unanimous decision (kickboxing rules)
Kai Asakura defeated Manel Kape via split decision
Ayaka Hamasaki defeated Alyssa Garcia via unanimous decision
Ante Delija defeated Ricardo Prasel via unanimous decision
Jairzinho Rozenstruik defeated Andrey Kovalev via split decision
Kanako Murata defeated Lanchana Green via submission (anaconda choke) in R1
Tomohiro Kitai vs. Darvish Kurogi ended up a split draw (kickboxing rules)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania