clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ONE 'Dynasty of Champions' results: Gafurov submits Jadambaa, unifies featherweight championship

ONE Championship

Marat Gafurov and Narantungalag Jadambaa both entered the cage as champions at ONE: "Dynasty of Champions."

Only the Russian will leave with the belt, but the two featherweights can hold their heads high after putting on one of the best fights of the year in front of the fans in Beijing.

Gafurov is a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ) black belt and in the second round he looked to press home his advantage on the ground, taking Jadambaa down and hyper-extending his arm with an armbar attempt. The Mongolian showed unbelievable courage and determination to somehow resist the temptation to tap.

He came back strongly and blasted Gafurov with punches at the end of the round. The pattern of the fight was set with the Russian coming close with a series of submission attempts but Jadambaa surviving and then setting out his stall to attack in the striking exchanges

Gafurov appeared to be tiring faster than Jadambaa as the fight entered the fourth round but the Russian secured a crucial takedown and was finally able to lock in a rear naked choke that put the determined Mongolian to sleep. The unified champion remains undefeated, moving up to 13-0 while his opponent drops to 10-4.

In the co-main event, Greco-Roman wrestling specialist Kairat Akhmetov also remains undefeated after beating Adriano Moraes by split decision to capture the Brazilian's 125-pound title. The 23-0 Kazakh scored with multiple takedowns and spent enough time in top position to persuade two of the three judges to give him the nod ahead of the 13-2 former champion.

Yang Sen (2-0) took the fight straight to opponent Zhang Jia Cai (1-1) to win by impressive Kimura submission in the Beijing Featherweight Tournament II final bout. Meanwhile Nikolay Aleksakhin (16-3) punished Burenzorig Batmunkh (3-2) before finishing him with a third round rear naked choke.

Official results for ONE: Dynasty of Champions:

ONE Featherweight World Championship bout: Marat Gafurov defeats Narantungalag Jadambaa by Technical Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:39 minutes of round 4

ONE Flyweight World Championship bout: Kairat Akhmetov defeats Adriano Moraes by Decision (Split)

Beijing Featherweight Tournament II final bout: Yang Sen defeats Zhang Jia Cai by Submission (Kimura) at 0:35 minutes of round 2

Flyweight bout: Li Wei Bin defeats Wang Ya Yong by Decision (Split)

Welterweight bout: Nikolay Aleksakhin defeats Burenzorig Batmunkh by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:39 minutes of round 3

Welterweight bout: Jeff Huang defeats Trestle Tan by TKO (Strikes) at 1:30 minutes of round 1

Beijing Featherweight Tournament II alternate bout: Ma Jia Wen defeats Wang Ya Wei by Unanimous Decision

Beijing Featherweight Tournament II semifinal bout: Zhang Jia Cai defeats Qiao Long Fei by Submission at 3:42 minutes of round 1

Beijing Featherweight Tournament II semifinal bout: Yang Sen defeats Ala Teng Bu Ri Ge De by Decision (Split)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania