clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2014 inductees include Michael Strahan, Andre Reed, Derrick Brooks

See the entire list of names right here!

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Just one night before the biggest football game of the year, Super Bowl 48: Denver Broncos vs. Seattle Seahawks on Sun., Feb. 2, 2014, at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, the National Football League (NFL) announced the next class of Hall of Fame inductees.

Here are the seven players who made it in:

DE Michael Strahan
WR Andre Reed
LT Walter Jones
LB Derrick Brooks
CB Aeneas Williams
DE Claude Humphrey
P Ray Guy

That's quite the list of inductees, with Reed finally breaking in after many years of eligibility -- he retired in 2000. He was snubbed multiple times with the idea that there were simply too many other deserving candidates.

Not this year.

This one is historic for another reason: Guy becomes the very first punter to make the Hall of Fame. He spent his career booting them long for the Oakland Raiders. It's just a shame longtime owner Al Davis isn't still around to see it.

Jones was a shoo-in, as was Brooks and Strahan. Humphrey is more than deserving and Williams, while a surprise, definitely earned the honor.

Here are the notable names who were not included:

WR Marvin Harrison
DE Charles Haley
RB Jerome Bettis
WR Tim Brown
HC Tony Dungy
DB John Lynch

See you next year!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania