clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL Awards: Peyton Manning wins MVP, Offensive Player of the Year

Not that it was ever really in doubt, but it's now official.


On the eve of Super Bowl 48: Denver Broncos vs. Seattle Seahawks on Sun., Feb. 2, 2014, at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, the National Football League is handing out its yearly awards to all the best and brightest of the regular season.

Chief among them, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award which, not surprisingly, was awarded to Broncos QB Peyton Manning, who broke multiple records, including touchdown passes (55) and passing yards (5,477) during Denver's 13-3 campaign en route to the NFL title game.

The vote, however, was not unanimous, if you can believe it. One voter thought the award should go to New England Patriots QB Tom Brady. Manning received 49 votes to Brady's 1.

Here are the winners of the other major awards handed out tonight:

Offensive Player of the Year: Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)
Defensive Player of the Year: Luke Kuechly (LB, Carolina Panthers)
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Sheldon Richardson (DT, New York Jets)
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Eddie Lacy (RB, Green Bay Packers)
Comeback Player of the Year: Philip Rivers (QB, San Diego Chargers)
Coach of the Year: Ron Rivera (Head Coach, Carolina Panthers)
Walter Payton Man of the Year: Charles Tillman (CB, Chicago Bears)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania