clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC Fight Night 27 results: Abel Trujillo paid his win bonus despite no contest vs Roger Bowling

New, comments

UFC President Dana White was doling out some extra funds for his fighters last night. Check out why Abel Trujillo got a bit more despite not actually winning his fight below.

Pat Lovell-USA TODAY Sports

While UFC Fight Night 27 was a solid show throughout and finished with a bang last night (Aug. 28, 2013) in Indianapolis, Indiana, the night didn't exactly get started off on the right track.

The opening bout, a lightweight match-up between Abel Trujillo and Roger Bowling seemed on its way to potentially becoming a "Fight of the Night" contender but the end of the second round was marred by a pair of knees Trujillo threw against Bowling, who was grounded along the fence.

The second knee in particular looked like it was illegal, and when follow-up punches landed, the damage had been done. After a brief pause to check out Bowling medically, referee Rob Hinds called a stop to the fight and ruled the bout was a "no contest" after an incidental illegal blow was landed.

UFC President Dana White wasn't very happy with the result, immediately hopping on Twitter to share his opinion:

While the first knee Trujillo threw was clearly legal and connected to the chest, the second one was much more questionable, and at least from the audience perspective live, it looked like it landed to the head at least in a grazing manner if not more.

White reiterated his stance at the post-fight press conference and even raised the stakes for Trujillo, awarding the young fighter his win bonus:

"Those shots were not illegal. The first one hit him in the chest, and the second hit him in the shoulder. That kid should've won that fight, and I'm going to pay him his win bonus"

This isn't the first time White has gone out of his way to pay a fighter his win bonus. He's done it multiple times in the past usually due to the result of a controversial judging decision like Leonard Garcia defeating Nam Phan the first time or in similar situations.

What was your take on the second knee? Legal or no?