clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Three fights added to ONE FC: 'Warrior Spirit' including middleweight match-up between Leandro Ataides vs. Bryan Rafiq

New, comments

The ONE FC 12 fight card on Nov. 15 nears completion with the addition of three new bouts.


The card for ONE FC: "Warrior Spirit" is almost complete with three new fights added today to the event which will take place on November 15, 2013 at Stadium Putra in Kuala Lumpur. Malaysian fighters Peter Davis and Saiful Merican will both be back in action while two top middleweights go head-to-head in the shape of Leandro Ataides and Bryan Rafiq.

Davis (6-3) won his first three fights for ONE FC in impressive style, but talk of a title shot for the Malaysian model has been quelled by back-to-back defeats at the hands of Ariel Sexton and Eddie Ng. He will be looking to get back to his winning ways when he takes on Egyptian Wushu specialist Ala Mazloum (1-0).

Merican (1-1) is a Muay Thai fighter who is coming off a decision win over undefeated Indian bantamweight Aditya Desphande and he will be competing inside the ONE FC cage for the second time when he takes on Cambodian Kun Khmer champion Tok Sophon (2-0).

The middleweight match-up could have repercussions for the ONE FC 185-pound title picture because Rafiq (8-2) and Ataides (5-0) both have excellent records. The former is a French Pancrase veteran who has fought in both Brazil and Japan while the latter is a Brazilian jiu-jitsu black belt who recently joined Evolve MMA in Singapore.

The card will be headlined by a welterweight title bout between Malaysian Adam Kayoom and Japan's Nobutatsu Suzuki and will also see featherweights Melvin Yeoh and AJ Mansour do battle for the right to become the first ever Malaysian national mixed martial arts (MMA) champion.

ONE FC: "Warrior Spirit" on Nov. 15 at Stadium Putra

Adam Kayoom vs Nobutatsu Suzuki (for inaugural ONE FC 170-pound title)

Leandro Ataides vs Bryan Rafiq

Peter Davis vs Alaa Mazloum

Gianni Subba vs Chen Yun Ting

Melvin Yeoh vs A.J. Lias Mansor (for inaugural Malaysian 145-pound title)

Saiful Merican vs Tok Sophon

Nik Harris vs Zuli Silawanto

Samir Mrabet vs Steven Durr