clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

M-1 Challenge 31 results: Alexander Emelianenko and Jeff Monson win in St. Petersburg, Russia

New, 5 comments
Photo of Alexander Emelianenko via <a href=""></a>.
Photo of Alexander Emelianenko via

Alexander Emelianenko was back competing in Mother Russia this weekend (Fri., March 16, 2012), and this time he was able to last longer than 23 seconds. In fact, he was even able to score a stoppage of his own over Tadas Rimkevicius.

The Heavyweight showdown was the centerpiece of M-1 Challenge 31 at the Ice Palace in St. Petersburg, Russia, which also featured former number one Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) 265-pound contender, Jeff Monson, earning a split decision over Alexey Oleinik.

Emelianenko, with is older brother Fedor Emelianenko in his corner, got into a back-and-forth brawl with the Lithuanian for most of the opening frame. He got the better of the exchanges for the most part, but was dropped with a big shot as it came to a close. Both men continued to battle in the second stanza until Rimkevicius seemingly had enough and waved off Emelianenko, tapping out to strikes while still upright.


Monson, meanwhile, used every ounce of energy to take down Oleinik and implement his Brazilian jiu-jitsu game. It was a familiar "Snowman" strategy that won him the first and third rounds with the judges and zero points from the fans.

Check out complete M-1 31 Challenge results after the jump:

  • Alexander Emelianenko defeated Tadas Rimkevicius via technical knockout (strikes) in round two
  • Jeff Monson defeated Alexey Oleinik via split decision
  • Rashid Magomedov defeated Yasubey Enomoto via unanimous decision
  • Alexander Yakovlev defeated Shamil Zavurov via technical knockout (retirement) in round three
  • Deniss Smoldarev defeated Denis Komkin via split decision
  • Abdulmajid Magomedov defeated Arthur Shumakov via submission (rear naked choke) in round one
  • Vugar Bakhshiev defeated Jerome Bouisson via technical knockout (doctor's stoppage) in round two
  • Marat Gafurov defeated David Kozma via submission (rear naked choke) in round two
  • Ilya Doderkin defeated Alexey Martynov via submission (triangle choke) in round one
  • Bruno Carvalho defeated Ramazan Esenbaev via split decision