clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fighters Only World MMA Awards nominees announced

Check out all the details on this year's Fighters Only year end awards nominees, including Fighter of the Year and much, much more inside.

Ethan Miller

After a year-long wait, the finalists have been announced for the 2012 World MMA Awards.

Out of a total of 21 fan-voted categories, Strikeforce Women's Bantamweight Champion Ronda Rousey has been nominated a record four times.

You can vote for the winners by clicking here (must register an account first).

Included in those nominations for "The Rowdy One" is the Charles "Mask" Lewis Fighter of the Year award alongside Daniel Cormier, Nate Diaz, Benson Henderson and Jon Jones.

The voting recognizes activities occurring from Sept. 1, 2011, to Sept. 30, 2012.

MMAmania was not included in the nominees for "Best MMA Media Source of the Year" and yours truly was not listed for "MMA Journalist of the Year" either.

One can dream though, right?

The full list of nominees includes:

Charles "Mask" Lewis Fighter of the Year

Daniel Cormier
Nate Diaz
Benson Henderson
Jon Jones
Ronda Rousey

Female Fighter of the Year

Jessica Aguilar
Sarah Kaufman
Sara McMann
Ronda Rousey
Miesha Tate

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Renan Barao
Michael Chandler
Luke Rockhold
Ronda Rousey
Chris Weidman

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping
Alexander Gustafsson
Chan Sung Jung
Martin Kampmann
Stefan Struve

Fight of the Year

Dan Henderson vs. Mauricio "Shogun" Rua (UFC 139)
Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez (Bellator 58)
Jake Ellenberger vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC on FUEL TV 1)
Dustin Poirier vs. Chan Sung Jung (UFC on FUEL TV 3)
Jamie Varner vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC on FOX 4)

Knockout of the Year

Adam Khaliev vs. Alexei Belyaev (League S-70)
Edson Barboza vs. Terry Etim (UFC 142)
Stephen Thompson vs. Dan Stittgen (UFC 143)
Anthony Pettis vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC 144)
Brian Rogers vs. Vitor Vianna (Bellator 61)

Submission of the Year

Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140)
Charles Oliveira vs. Eric Wisely (UFC on FOX 2)
Rousimar Palhares vs. Mike Massenzio (UFC 142)
Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate (Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey)
Chan Sung Jung vs. Dustin Poirier (UFC on FUEL TV 3)

Comeback of the Year

Alan Belcher (career)
Mike Swick (career)
Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140)
Tim Boetsch vs. Yushin Okami (UFC 144)
J.P. Joubert vs. Norman Wessels (EFC Africa 15)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Rafael Cordeiro
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jackson
Javier Mendez
Andre Pederneiras

Gym of the Year

American Kickboxing Academy
Cesar Gracie Jiu-Jitsu
Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
Kings MMA
Nova Uniao

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean
Marc Goddard
John McCarthy
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki

Ring Card Girl of the Year

Jade Bryce
Arianny Celeste
Kelli Hutcherson
Brittney Palmer
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man of the Year

Victor Cui
Lorenzo Fertitta
Shannon Knapp
Bjorn Rebney
Dana White

Personality of the Year

Jon Anik
Bruce Buffer
Mauro Ranallo
Joe Rogan
Bas Rutten

Best Promotion

Invicta FC

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand

Bad Boy

Best Technical Clothing Brand

Bad Boy
Clinch Gear

Best Technical Equipment


MMA Media Source of the Year

"Inside MMA" on AXS TV

MMA Journalist of the Year

Karyn Bryant, MMA HEAT/FUEL TV
Ben Fowlkes, TODAY
Gareth A. Davies, The Telegraph
Ariel Helwani, TV
John Morgan, TODAY

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania