clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DREAM results and live updates for 'Fight for Japan GP Final' TONIGHT (July 16) from Tokyo

The Japanese MMA promotion Dream continues with its relief efforts tonight (Friday night into Saturday morning) in a special event 'Fight for Japan' which will hold the finals of its bantamweight tournament.

The event, like its May 29 predecessor, will be held in support of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami victims.

Headlining the show will be an exciting featherweight title fight as current Dream featherweight champion Hiroyuki Takaya takes on Kzuyuki Miyata. Miyata is most famously known for the incredible suplexes, which earned him wide recognition after an incredible picture was taken and edited by Esther Lin. He'll be looking to grapple his way to a title victory.

Also defending his title will be dream light heavyweight champion  and former Strikeforce light heavyweight champ Gegard Mousasi, who will battle rising Japanese grappling prospect Hiroshi Izumi. Izumi made a name for himself after a stoppage victory of "Minowaman" this past New Year's Eve at Dynamite!! 2010.

The big bantamweight tournament final will take place as well as Masakazu Imanari takes on Hideo Tokoro. Both men had to win two fights in one night less than two months ago and they'll conclude the tournament when they step into the ring.

Rounding out the card are plenty of top names like former Strikeforce title challengers Tatsuya Kawajiri and Marius Zaromskis as well as MMA veterans Trevor Prangley and Drew Fickett.

Check out full Dream results after the jump:

Fight Card

145 lb. title: Hiroyuki Takaya def. Kazuyuki Miyata via split decision
135 lb. Tournament Final: Hideo Tokoro def. Masakazu Imanari via unanimous decision

205 lb. title: Gegard Mousasi def. Hiroshi Izumi via TKO at 3:29 round 1
155 lbs.: Tatsuya Kawajiri def. Drew Fickett via TKO at 4:41 round 1
135 lbs.: Kenji Osawa def. Keisuke Fujiwara via unanimous decision
205 lbs.: Tatsuya Mizuno def. Trevor Prangley via TKO at 4:41 round 1

175 lbs.: Marius Žaromskis def. Eiji Ishikawa via unanimous decision
155 lbs.: Eiji Mitsuoka def. Bruno Carvalho via unanimous decision

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania