clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

KSW 17: James Thompson vs Mariusz Pudzianowski changed to 'no contest' in light of scoring error

Looks like James Thompson's post-fight hissy fit was able to achieve more than just a few laughs.

That's because officials behind last weekend's KSW 17 event in Poland have opted to change the result from his headlining bout against Mariusz Pudzianowski to a "no contest" after a scoring error was revealed from judge Piotr Baginski.

From MMA Rocks:

Pudzianowski vs Thompson 2 changed to a no contest, should've been a split draw, but judge Piotr Baginski made a mistake on his card.

Pudzianowski was granted a majority decision win after just two rounds of action; however, fight replays indicate that Thompson was the likely winner of round one, which should have prompted an overtime round to determine the victor.

Because of the aforementioned scoring snafu, a third round never came, which led to this infamous post-fight promo:

"F*cking joke. Give Mariusz a big round of applause. Come on. What a f*cking joke. I thought KSW was really trying to be serious. If you can watch that back and call that serious, then you're f*cked, and KSW is going down the f*cking toilet."


Thompson already holds a submission win over Pudzianowski from their first encounter back in May, but they are not expected to settle their score under the KSW banner anytime soon.

For complete KSW 17 results click here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania