clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stephan Bonnar: I will appeal the UFC 110 loss to Krzysztof Soszynski


Props: NWI Times


"It's only fair to get this overturned to a no contest or draw. In the rules, if after two rounds a fighter suffers a cut from an illegal blow, they go to the scorecard. The judges had it one round a piece, which would have made it a draw. Right after (it) happened, I pointed to my head and told him, 'Head butt.' Why he didn't look up at the replay, which they showed about 30 times, I have no idea. I have never been wronged so bad in a situation that was so obvious. Yes, I will appeal this decision. I just want what is fair. How do 20,000, people including my opponent and the commentators, see that a clash of heads occurred and the referee not see it? I feel like I'm in a pro wrestling match, where one of the wrestlers hits his opponent over the head with a chair when the referee's back's turned. Everyone in the arena sees what happened but the ref, then the ref gets down and gives the three-count and gives the guy the win. It really feels like that."

Light heavyweight Stephan Bonnar slams UFC 110 referee John Sharp for missing an inadvertent headbutt that busted him open in the third round of his 205-pound war with Krzysztof Soszynski at the "Nogueira vs. Velasquez" event on Feb. 21 from Sydney. "The American Psycho" was not permitted to continue after spilling blood all over himself, Soszynski and the better part of the Octagon floor but will appeal the decision and try to get it overturned because of the nature of the cut. Sour grapes? Or legitimate complaint?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania