Official UFC rankings updated after UFC Fight Night 36: Lyoto Machida leapfrogs Jacare Souza, lands at No. 3

Jason Silva-USA TODAY Sports has updated its "official" consensus rankings following this past Saturday's UFC Fight Night 36 event, which includes three contributions from staff members. Check out the big mixed martial arts (MMA) movers and shakers below.

The latest "official" Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) rankings are out with the conclusion of UFC Fight Night 36, which took place last Saturday night (Feb. 15, 2014) at Arena Jaragua in Santa Catarina, Brazil.

See all the results and fallout of "Machida vs. Mousasi" by clicking here.

Lyoto Machida established himself as the third-best middleweight on the planet, thanks to last weekend's convincing five-round unanimous decision win over Gegard Mousasi. In defeat, "The Dreamcatcher" debuted at No. 12 on the 185-pound list.

That's not all.

Ronaldo Souza sent Francis Carmont down to the No. 9 spot in their co-main event affair, but despite outpointing the muscular Parisian, "Jacare" also lost his place in line, thanks to what "The Dragon" was able to accomplish in the headlining act.

Check out the updated rankings (+/- = movement in rankings, *NR = Not previously ranked):

1. Jon Jones
2. Jose Aldo
3. Renan Barao +1
4. Cain Velasquez -1
5. Demetrious Johnson
6. Chris Weidman
7. Anderson Silva
8. Anthony Pettis
9. Ronda Rousey
10. Johny Hendricks
11. Vitor Belfort
12. Benson Henderson
13. Gilbert Melendez +1
14. Urijah Faber -1
15. Alexander Gustafsson

Champion : Demetrious Johnson
1. John Dodson
2. Joseph Benavidez
3. Ian McCall
4. John Moraga
5. Ali Bagautinov
6. John Lineker
7. Jussier Formiga
8. Timothy Elliott
9. Chris Cariaso
10. Zach Makovsky
11. Louis Gaudinot
12. Scott Jorgensen +1
13. Dustin Ortiz -1
14. Darrell Montague
15. Darren Uyenoyama

Champion : Renan Barao
1. Urijah Faber
2. Michael McDonald
3. Raphael Assuncao
4. Eddie Wineland
5. TJ Dillashaw
6. Brad Pickett
7. Takeya Mizugaki
8. Mike Easton
9. Dominick Cruz
10. Iuri Alcantara
11. Francisco Rivera
12. Erik Perez
13. Alex Caceres
14. Ivan Menjivar +1
15. Bryan Caraway -1

Champion : Jose Aldo
1. Chad Mendes
2. Franke Edgar
3. Ricardo Lamas
4. Cub Swanson
5. Chan Sung Jung
6. Dustin Poirier
7. Dennis Siver
8. Nik Lentz
9. Clay Guida
10. Jeremy Stephens
11. Darren Elkins
12. Erik Koch
13. Conor McGregor
14. Dennis Bermudez
15. Tatsuya Kawajiri

Champion : Anthony Pettis
1. Benson Henderson
2. Gilbert Melendez
3. TJ Grant
4. Josh Thomson
5. Nate Diaz
6. Rafael dos Anjos
7. Khabib Nurmagomedov
8. Donald Cerrone
9. Jim Miller
10. Gray Maynard
11. Edson Barboza
12. Bobby Green
13. Rustam Khabilov +1
14. Michael Johnson -1
15. Diego Sanchez

Champion: Vacant
1. Johny Hendricks
2. Carlos Condit
3. Robbie Lawler
4. Rory MacDonald
5. Jake Ellenberger
6. Demian Maia
7. Jake Shields
8. Matt Brown
9. Tarec Saffiedine
10. Tyron Woodley
11. Dong Hyun Kim
12. Hector Lombard
13. Josh Koscheck
14. Rick Story
15. Mike Pyle

Champion : Chris Weidman
1. Anderson Silva
2. Vitor Belfort
3. Lyoto Machida +1
4. Ronaldo Souza -1
5. Michael Bisping
6. Luke Rockhold
7. Mark Munoz
8. Tim Kennedy +1
9. Francis Carmont -1
10. Costas Philippou
11. Tim Boetsch
12. Gegard Mousasi *NR
13. Alan Belcher
14. Brad Tavares
15. Chael Sonnen *NR

Light Heavyweight
Champion : Jon Jones
1. Alexander Gustafsson
2. Glover Teixeira
3. Rashad Evans
4. Phil Davis
5. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira
6. Mauricio Rua +1
7. Dan Henderson -1
8. Chael Sonnen
9. Ryan Bader +1
10. Jimi Manuwa +1
11. Gegard Mousasi -2
12. Vitor Belfort +1
13. James Te Huna +2
14. Rafael Cavalcante *NR
15. Lyoto Machida -1

Champion : Cain Velasquez
1. Junior Dos Santos
2. Fabricio Werdum
3. Travis Browne
4. Daniel Cormier
5. Antonio Silva
6. Josh Barnett
7. Alistair Overeem
8. Stipe Miocic
9. Mark Hunt
10. Roy Nelson
11. Frank Mir
12. Gabriel Gonzaga
13. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira
14. Stefan Struve
15. Brendan Schaub

Women's Bantamweight
Champion: Ronda Rousey
1. Cat Zingano
2. Miesha Tate
3. Alexis Davis
4. Sara McMann
5. Jessica Eye +1
6. Sarah Kaufman -1
7. Liz Carmouche
8. Amanda Nunes
9. Jessica Andrade
10. Julianna Pena
11. Germaine de Randamie
12. Bethe Correia
13. Raquel Pennington
14. Jessamyn Duke
15. Jessica Rakoczy

As you can see, there is plenty to talk about.

And you can expect these numbers to change this weekend after UFC 170, which features a significant bout in the women's bantamweight division with Ronda Rousey vs. Sara McMann.

See the entire UFC 170 fight card and line up here.

Until then, sound off in the comment section below. And to compare these to the last official UFC rankings click here.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.