In one of the controversial fight endings at UFC on FX 7: "Belfort vs. Bisping," Yuri Alcantara was arguably robbed of a victory after his fight was declared a "No Contest" by refereeing Dan Miragliotta after a number of alleged illegal strikes to the back of the head.
The one upside for Alcantara? The UFC awarded him the "win" portion of his contract, which will double his earnings for the event.
Guilherme Cruz of Tatame reported the news of the UFC's courtesy to the fighter.
The replays of the finish showed Miragliotta made the incorrect call in the bantamweight bout, as Alcantara had back mount position and landed strikes that appeared to be legal. But when the referee stopped the action, it wasn't for a TKO, it was for strikes to the back of the head.
UFC President Dana White tweeted his frustration with both Miragliotta's decision and Nobre's "academy award" acting skills, which likely contributed to Alcantara getting his "win" money.
For complete results and blow-by-blow coverage of UFC on FX 7: "Belfort vs. Bisping" click here.