Gina Carano's new movie 'In the Blood' lures former Strikeforce champ back to Hollywood

Photo of Gina Carano courtesy of GQ.

Looks like Nostradumbass wasn't the only one impressed by Gina Carano's acting ability.

The former face of women's mixed martial arts (MMA) and one time Strikeforce 145-pound champion is heading back to the silver screen to star in a new action thriller titled "In the Blood," which is expected to begin principal photography in late spring or early summer.

From the Hollywood Reporter:

Described as being in the vein of Taken, Blood is set in motion when a husband disappears while vacationing in the Caribbean with his wife, to be played by Carano. The grieving wife passionately and recklessly pursues the men whom she believes kidnapped and killed him. Bennett Yellin and James Robert Johnston wrote the script.

"This role will showcase not only Gina's fighting skills, but also her acting abilities as her character struggles to reign in her violent past."

While Haywire failed to deliver any box office beatings, Carano was nonetheless praised for her big screen debut, holding her own opposite A-list actors like Michael Douglas and Antonio Banderas.

Carano flirted with the idea of returning to combat sports and even went so far as to book herself in a return fight against Sarah D'Alelio last June; however, she was subsequently forced off the card for undisclosed medical reasons.

During her absence, Strikeforce has been able to establish new stars, evidenced by its main event title fight between 135-pound champion Miesha Tate, defending her strap against the dangerous submission stylings of Ronda Rousey on March 3 in Columbus, Ohio.

As for Carano, any chance of seeing her inside the cage in 2012 is currently idling on the corner of slim and none. And if "In the Blood" is well received and does even moderate success, she may be hanging up the gloves for good.

Sorry, Cynthia Rothrock, but this town ain't big enough for the both of ya' ...

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join MMAmania.com

You must be a member of MMAmania.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMAmania.com. You should read them.

Join MMAmania.com

You must be a member of MMAmania.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMAmania.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5349_tracker