Strikeforce results: Did Herb Dean miss Bobby Green tapping out to JZ Cavalcante on July 30?

Veteran mixed martial arts referee Herb Dean is coming under fire in the aftermath of the Strikeforce: "Fedor vs. Henderson" event last Saturday night (July 30) from the Sears Center in Hoffman Estates, Illinois.

But it's not for his controversial stoppage of the main event.

Lightweight fighters Gesias Cavalcante and Bobby Green went to war on the event's non-televised preliminary card and "JZ" locked in a tight rear naked choke in the waning seconds of the second stanza.

But did Dean miss "The King's" tap out?

After the jump, we'll take a look at Ray Hui's play-by-play as well as Green's assertion that his arm-waving was "nowhere near a tap."

Round 2: Green sticks out double jabs. Cavalcante misses a big overhand right. Cavalcante dodges a punch and clinches with Green. Green tries to sneak behind while kneeing Cavalcante in his hamstring. Cavalcante drops to his back with a kimura. Cavalcante gets back to his feet and avoids a knee. Cavalcante with a right hand. Green actively jabs. Cavalcante has been looking for a the KO all night. Green clinches but it's Cavalcante who gets the trip takedown. Cavalcante throws left hands and passes to his right over Green's halfguard.Cavalcante takes full mount with 24 seconds left. Green gives up his back and Cavalcante works for the choke. It looks from watching the big screen that Green tapped but the bell sounds. Dean didn't catch it from his vantage point.

Did Herb Dean blow the call?

Sherdog.com has more:

Rounds one and three could have gone either way, but the second period was not in dispute. There, they exchanged takedowns, but Cavalcante made the most of his, as he transitioned to full mount late in the round and forced Green to his knees with punches. The choke came next, followed by the tapout, but Green was saved by the bell.

In the video below, Green not only argues against a second round submission, he also insists he was the overall winner and that a split decision win for the Brazilian is "bologna."

Green, who insists he was waving his arm to indicate he wasn't in any danger, has a powerful ally in his defense: Dean himself, who told MMA Fighting the fallen fighter "made some effort to communicate with him, and he gave me a thumbs-up, clear as day."

Whaddaya think Maniacs, is Dean on the hot seat? Or cleared for lack of insufficient evidence?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join MMAmania.com

You must be a member of MMAmania.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMAmania.com. You should read them.

Join MMAmania.com

You must be a member of MMAmania.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMAmania.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5349_tracker