Photos by Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images
Ya' know, except for that whole illegal knee thing.
And he had a little help from referee Chip Snider.
"Do Bronx" did bad, crushing Lentz with an illegal knee while "The Carny" was grounded, which somehow escaped Snider's field of vision. Oliveira continued to pour it on and finished the job via rear naked choke at 1:48 of the second round.
The Pennsylvania State Athletic Commission (PSAC) has since announced it will review the tape and determine whether or not the ruling should be overturned in favor of a "no contest," setting up a potential rematch between the two lightweight prospects somewhere down the road.
Oliveira doesn't see any reason to strip him of his victory and even tells Tatame.com he would gladly trade his "Fight of the Night" bonus to keep the win.
"I didn’t realize he was still (with a knee) on the ground… At the heat of the moment, I wanted to knock him out or submit him. The knee landed and the referee didn’t stop the fight, then I hit him again with another knee. The first one was illegal, but it didn’t hti him on the jaw, and he kept fighting, trying to take me down. The second one actually hurt him. We’re just waiting. I left that in God’s hands, but I think it won’t happen (they won’t change the result). He didn’t go out, he kept on the fight and stood up, then he felt the second knee. There’s no reason to not give me the victory ... If I could change the bonus for the victory, I would."
Take a look at Zombie Prophet's Charles Oliveira vs. Nik Lentz GIF from Iron Forges Iron and judge for yourself:
Alright Maniacs, you're on the board of the PSAC, what's your ruling?