Photo by Esther Lin via AllElbows.com
Hold your horses, Robert Peralta.
While it had appeared that he had scored a run-of-the-mill technical knockout victory over Mackens Semerzier on the UFC on FOX 1 undercard, instant replay clearly showed that the strike which had done all the damage was actually a collision of heads, which is an illegal form of attack.
Peralta had been ruled the victor last month in Anaheim but Semerzier's management, SuckerPunch Entertainment had vowed to appeal the result.
Today, they finally got their answer.
In the face of overwhelming video evidence, the California State Athletic Commission had no other option than to overturn Peralta's victory and rule it officially as a no contest.
It was decided that the headbutt was incidental, although it was clearly the key factor in Semerzier being unable to defend himself.
The change was announced enthusiastically on SuckerPunch Entertainment's twitter earlier today.
The management team is now asking for a rematch, but there hasn't been any word from UFC whether or not that will be something they are looking at.
What would you prefer, Maniacs?