BAMMA 8 results recap for 'Manuwa vs Rea' on Dec. 10 in England

Photo by Martin Rhodes via

Bamma 8 went down last night (Dec. 10, 2011) from Capital FM Arena in Nottingham, England. The event was headlined by undefeated light heavyweight Jim Manuwa taking on Antony Rea in what was Manuwa's debut with the promotion.

BAMMA 8 also marked the U.S. television debut for the England based organization though it's safe to say it wasn't a success. Not on the quality of fights but rather the actual viewing experience, which is to say, there wasn't one. HDNet experienced technical difficulties with the broadcast and the final two bouts were not shown stateside.

Nevertheless, we make do with what we can.

Jimi Manuwa headed into the bout undefeated, riding a 10 fight win streak to go along with five UCMMA light heavyweight title defenses.

Looking to derail Manuwa's hot streak was Antony Rea, who was also making his BAMMA debut. Unfortunately for Rea, Manuwa came out determined to stay undefeated. Manuwa controlled the bout throughout the first round and ultimately, Rea was unable to answer the bell for the second round, giving Manuwa the technical knockout victory; in the process, extending his win streak to 11.

In the rest of the main card action, former Ultimate Fighter (TUF) alum and UFC veteran Andre Winner made it two wins in a row by defeating a game Diego Gonzales via unanimous decision. Winner was simply too much for Gonzales, outclassing him on the feet throughout the fight and flooring him on multiple occasions.

In other action, Jackson MMA product and former Strikeforce welterweight contender Joey Villasenor looked to make it back-to-back wins for the first time in two years, but Jim Wallhead had other plans. Wallhead ended the fight via knockout just 0:48 seconds into the first round, making it two for two under the BAMMA umbrella and sending Villasenor back to the drawing board.

Full results for BAMMA 8 after the jump:

Jimi Manuwa def. Antony Rea via TKO Round 1 (unable to answer the bell for second round)
Jim Wallhead def. Joey Villasenor via knockout at 0:48 round 1
Andre Winner def. Diego Gonzalez via Unanimous Decision
Erik Perez def. Paul McVeigh via Unanimous Decision
Brian Hyslop def. Ian Malone via Unanimous Decision
Brent Crawley def. Mark Platts via Submission (rear naked choke) at 2:57 round 1
Danny Mitchell def. Dean Masinger via Submission (triangle Choke) at 2:28 round 2
Tom Breese def. Quasim Shafiq via Submission (triangle Choke) at 4:20 round 1
Colin Fletcher def. David Round via Submission (guillotine Choke) at 2:13 round 1

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.